Skip to Content
Committee for Clinical Perfusionist


Featured Links

About the Committee for Clinical Perfusionist

The Committee for Clinical Perfusionists was established by the General Assembly in 1999 to license those individuals actively engaged in the practice of perfusion as that term is defined in T.C.A. §63-28-102(6). The Committee is responsible for safeguarding the health, safety, and welfare of Tennesseans by requiring those who practice perfusion be qualified.  The Committee, working with the Board of Medical Examiners, interprets the laws, rules, and regulations to determine the appropriate standards of practice to ensure the highest degree of professional conduct.  The Committee is authorized to issue licenses to qualified candidates who have completed appropriate education and successfully completed required examinations.  The Committee, along with the Board, determines the appropriate standard of care, investigates alleged violations of laws and rules, and disciplines licensees who are found guilty of such violations.

Administrative staff of the Division of Health Related Boards supports the Committee by issuing licenses to those who meet the requirements of the law and rules.  Renewal notices are mailed from the Committee’s administrative office forty-five (45) days prior to the expiration of the license to the licensee’s current address on record.  Licenses can be renewed on-line one hundred twenty (120) days prior to the expiration at Licensees are responsible for renewing their licenses on time and keeping the Committee appraised of current information.  It is a violation of the law and of the Committee’s rules to practice on an expired license.

The Committee meets four (4) times per year.  A majority of the members of the Committee shall constitute a quorum.  The meetings are open to the public.  The Governor appoints all members of the Committee.  The Committee consists of four (4) perfusionist members; one (1) hospital administrator from a licensed healthcare facility in Tennessee in which cardiac surgery is performed; one (1) licensed physician who shall be either a cardiac surgeon or a cardiac anesthesiologist; and one (1) public member.

Contact the Committee for Clinical Perfusionist

To contact the Committee, call

615-532-3202 (local) or 1-800-778-4123 (nationwide)
or write
  665 Mainstream Drive, 2nd Floor
  Nashville, TN  37243


Board Members

Board Members Title Representation Term  Expires
Paul Robinson Chair Perfusionist 07-31-2015
Howard Briscoe Vice Chair Perfusionist 07-31-2016
Barbara Ebey Member Perfusionist 07-31-2018
Gwen Bonner Member Hospital Administrator 07-15-2015
R. Lewis Wilson Member Cardiothoracic Surgeon 07-31-2015
Alice B Walker Member Citizen 07-31-2014
Chad W Smith Member Perfusionist 07-31-2019

Meeting Schedule

Meeting Schedule

Public Notices will remain online until the minutes are ratified and posted on the Meeting Minutes Tab. Unless otherwise noted, all events take place at 665 Mainstream Drive, MetroCenter.

Committee for Clinical Perfusionist Meeting Schedule
Date Time Event and Location Public Notice
December 16, 2014 9:00 a.m. Board Meeting
Poplar Room, 665 Mainstream Dr.
Public Notice
April 21, 2015 10:00 a.m. Board Meeting
Poplar Room, 665 Mainstream Dr.
Public Notice CANCELED
June 16, 2015 10:00 a.m. Board Meeting
Iris Room, 665 Mainstream Dr.
Public Notice
October 13, 2015 10:00 a.m. Board Meeting
Poplar Room, 665 Mainstream Dr.

Meeting Minutes

Meeting Minutes

Copies of all minutes are maintained in the official record section of the administrative office. Please contact the board administrator to make arrangements to review minutes of meetings held prior to 2004.