Skip to Content
Emergency Medical Services

Related Links

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration - EMS Division.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is a governmental agency whose mission is to save lives, prevent injuries and reduce traffic-related health care and other economic costs. The goal of NHTSA's EMS Division is to develop/enhance comprehensive emergency medical services to care for the injured patients involved in motor vehicle crashes.

USFA -- National Fire Academy
Through its courses and programs the NFA works to enhance the ability of fire and emergency services and allied professionals to deal more effectively with fire and related emergencies. This site provides information on fire training courses and programs offered by the National Fire Academy for fire service personnel and allied professionals.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) is dedicated to saving lives, preventing injuries and protecting the health of America's workers. To accomplish this, federal and state governments must work in partnership with the more than 100 million working men and women and their six and a half million employers who are covered by the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970.

Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
The Federal Communications Commission (FCC)is an independent United States government agency, directly responsible to Congress. The FCC was established by the Communications Act of 1934 and is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable. The FCC's jurisdiction covers the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions.

Tennessee Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC)
The purpose of this web site is to provide a common area for the collaboration and education to improve the care given to sick and injured children in Tennessee.

The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)
The Department of Health and Human Services is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves. The department includes more than 300 programs, covering a wide spectrum of activities.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
The Federal Emergency Management Agency -- FEMA -- is an independent agency of the federal government, reporting to the President. Since its founding in 1979, FEMA's mission has been clear: to reduce loss of life and property and protect our nation's critical infrastructure from all types of hazards through a comprehensive, risk-based, emergency management program of mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery.

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB)
The National Transportation Safety Board is an independent Federal agency that investigates every civil aviation accident in the United States and significant accidents in the other modes of transportation, conducts special investigations and safety studies, and issues safety recommendations to prevent future accidents. Safety Board investigators are on call 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Tennessee Code
Select Legal Resources
Select Tennessee Code
For EMS Laws, see Title 68, Chapter 140

Rules and Regulations

Emergency Cardiac Care (Link to American Heart Association ECC)

Tennessee Emergency Management Agency (TEMA)
The Tennessee Emergency Management Agency (TEMA) is a division of the Military Department. TEMA is responsible for ensuring the establishment and development of policies and programs for emergency management at the state and local levels. The responsibility includes the development of a statewide capability to mitigate against, prepare for, respond to, and recover from the dull range of emergiencies, both natural and technological.

National Association of State EMS Directors