Skip to Content

Genealogy Research

The Tennessee Vital Records Office keeps birth records for 100 years and death, marriage, and divorce records for 50 years; after that time, the records are sent to the Tennessee State Library and Archives for public access and family research.

Tennessee State law dictates that certified copies of our records can only be provided to the person named on the certificate or certain family members.  However, verification of information from our records (excluding cause of death) can be provided to any requester.  If you wish verification of information from our records you should complete the appropriate form (birth, death, marriage, divorce) and mail it along with the required fee to:

Tennessee Vital Records
1st Floor, Central Services Building
421 Fifth Avenue, North
Nashville, TN  37243